a story

Wow! Has it really been a couple of months since I’ve posted? Lack of time. Lack of inspiration. Lack of motivation. These are my, by now, well-known excuses.

So here I am. I feel an overwhelming need to share this with you. If you are a parent, I’m pretty sure you can relate. Today, I offer you a story of shit.

Yes, shit.

My hands feel tight. Scrubbed and rescrubbed numerous times after this afternoon’s encounter with shit.

I suppose I should commend my 4-year-old for trying to clean the mess up. Some people who frequent the family restrooms have a thing or two to learn from Little Dude. But holy, mother of god! Shit was everywhere.

I found Little Dude in the main floor bathroom with a piece of toilet paper in one hand. His other hand was holding the potty stool over the toilet bowl. The poor thing was trying to clean off a thick, watery clump of poop that was stuck to the stool. His shit-smeared underpants laid on top of his shorts on the floor.

My first thought? Ewwwwww!!!

Then I snapped back to my mommy role and asked Little Dude if he still had more poop to come out. He said, “Yes.” I sat him down on the toilet ignoring the yellowy mess covering his bum and streaming down one leg.

“You shouldn’t try to clean up your poopy mess yourself, buddy. Next time you have an accident, you need to ask mommy for help. OK?” I wanted to give him a hug but my hands were already covered with shit.

Rewind 15 minutes before the accident. Little Dude runs to the bathroom but comes out promptly saying, “My poop isn’t coming out fast.” He rejoins us at the lunch table.

Five minutes later. “Mommy, I have a tummy ache,” and he sits on my lap.

Two minutes later. “I’m feeling better,” and he goes in the familyroom to play.

A few more minutes later, he’s running towards the bathroom exclaiming, “I have to poo!!”

Moral of this story:

The next time my supposedly potty-trained pre-schooler claims his poop isn’t coming yet, I will put my lunch on hold and make sure he sits on the toilet until his poop is securely in the bowl. It will make for a little less shitty day for us all.

Sent from my Blackberry device

  1. Thank God they’re cute, huh? Otherwise, we’d all run screaming the minute we had to change the first one.

  2. It’s amazing how much we can take when it is our own kids. I cannot imagine doing this for anybody else. More the reason I admire people who work at childcare facilities and of course hospitals etc.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

