holding on

Shutter Sisters’ OWP word for April is hold, a word that conveys such powerful images and thoughts for me. We embrace … clutch … grab … confine … and, yes, hold on to many things in life. Our possessions. Our past. Our youth. Our children. Our family. Our spouse. Ourselves. Motherhood (and life, in general) is all about holding on. And, taking hold. At times, holding in. And, holding back.

Today, I offer you a photograph of me with my arms wrapped around my youngest son … a quick blackberry snap taken by my husband last year and digitally edited by me. It’s one of the very few images of me in our massive digital photo library … the first photo I thought of when I saw the word hold.

This image reminds me of one of my current ongoing battles with LittleR Dude, now 2 1/2. He’s beginning to reject naptime. “I don’t want to cuddle, mommy,” he insists but often succumbs to sleep only a few minutes after being rocked.

Cuddle time. Our down time. I’d like to hold on to this quiet, tender moment forever. I hold him sleeping in my arms longer than I need to because I know that, soon, this routine will pass. One day, I will have no choice but to let go.

    • Smukke
    • April 2nd, 2010

    That is a beautiful photograph (as was the last one you posted!). My oldest will soon stop having a nap in the daytime. I find I’m both looking forward to it and dreading it at the same time.

    • Jen
    • May 9th, 2010

    I find myself doing the same thing lately. I hold on just a little longer during a hug, especailly with my oldest who is growing up so quickly. Then a year or two later my son will also decide that hugging mom isn’t very cool. Everyone tells you they grow up so quickly, but it really feels like the blink of an eye.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

